Chapter 14: Colourful…

Peace be upon you…

Dear readers,

It had been my wish to post this to you quite a while ago…but then here it is now…

In the Quran, Allah (God) said:

O mankind! We created you from a single (pair) of a male and a female, and made you into nations and tribes, that ye may know each other (not that ye may despise (each other). Verily the most honoured of you in the sight of Allah is (he who is) the most righteous of you. And Allah has full knowledge and is well acquainted (with all things). ”

(Surah Al Hujurat [Chapter 49] Verse 13)

When I read this verse sometime ago, I just realised on what does unity really means. It has become a complicated matter when it comes to how to unite the people of various different backgrounds to be able to integrate well together in all aspects. Indeed it is our view and perception towards others really makes the difference on how far we will be able to unite and integrate with each other. Of course from the verse above, the perception that God wants us to have upon each other is the fact that all of us came from Him and to Him we shall all return. It is of His will that He created us with different characteristics and backgrounds so we are able to learn from each other and to benefit from each other through mutual help. The only indicator that determine who is more superior than others in not for us to judge among each other since that is for Him to decide based on the level of our righteousness and piety. Therefore, it is unjust to even think that we are better than others in a sense that we become boastful, let alone to treat others differently like you normally do. However, this will only achieved if there is Tauhid in each one of us. The faith that makes us realised that there is a Supreme Power above all things who has created us and all things that we know of, and that is Allah, the Lord Of the Universe, The Most Powerful and the Creator of All Things…

With that in mind, I would like to share with you a poem by a small kid from Africa whose poem had been nominated by UN as the best poem of 2006…enjoy (^_^)…

When I born, I black

When I grow up, I black
When I go in Sun, 
I black
When I scared, 
I black
When I sick, 
I black
And when I die, 
I still black
And you 
white fellow
When you born, 
you pink
When you grow up,
 you white
When you go in sun, 
you red
When you cold, 
you blue
When you scared, 
you yellow
When you sick, 
you green
And when you die, 
you gray
And you calling me 
colored ??"

 

ThinkPlanAct

4 thoughts on “Chapter 14: Colourful…

  1. Assalamualaikum,

    Thanks for the comment…well I do think so too…I did impress with the poem though. Its simplicity really portrays how ridiculous the action of discriminating others is (or even thinking bad about other as well). After all most importantly how do we reflect this value on us? Do we do the same? Let’s strive not to! (^_^)

    Wassalam

  2. Love that poem but for some reason I always think its racist too.

    if only we learn to call people by names and nice nick names instead of derogatory words and names.

    • Thank you for your reply…
      With all due respect, the poem was posted because I found it interesting on what kind of perception does this small kid has when he/she wrote this poem. Indirectly he/she was saying how inappropriate it is to consider our differences in skin color should be the determinant on who is more superior than the other which is somehow true. Out of that understanding I posted this poem…

      Thanks again for the reply…nice to hear from you! (^_^)

Leave a Reply

